Key takeaways
- Packaged apps are live for Windows 10/11 64-bit and Mac (Intel and Apple Silicon via Rosetta 2). Linux and phones are waitlist only.
- Pricing no longer publishes dollar allowances. Free is $0 with BYOK, local, or light included usage; Pro is $12/month or $120/year; Max is $20/month or $200/year.
- Home Assistant, US/NANP outbound calls via Telnyx, and local wake-word/speech are on current pages. Bitcoin/BTCPay is not listed on pricing.
- GeeIHadAGoodTime/viola-oss publishes the source core under Apache-2.0; hosted services and private commercial components are excluded.
FAQ
What is Viola?
A Windows and Mac voice assistant that keeps your music, calendar, Home Assistant, and browser, with local wake word and speech by default. Cloud features, including phone, are opt-in or account-backed.
How much does Viola cost?
Checked September 23, 2026: Free $0; Pro $12/month or $120/year; Max $20/month or $200/year. Tiers share features and differ by managed AI and phone allowance. The site no longer states $1, $6, or $12 monthly dollar allowances.
Does Viola work on Mac?
Yes. Mac builds are signed and notarized. Apple Silicon runs via Rosetta 2. There is no iPhone, Android, or Linux app yet.
Can Viola make phone calls?
Outbound carrier calls to US numbers through Telnyx. Audio runs in Viola's cloud. No inbound answering. Calls share the plan usage allowance.
Executive Summary
Viola is a shipped Windows and Mac voice assistant, not a Windows-only beta. The current site (checked September 23, 2026) still sells local-first defaults: wake word and speech on-device, credentials in a desktop vault, cloud features opt-in. Packaged installers are Microsoft Trusted Signing on Windows and Apple notarized on Mac.[1][2][3][4]
Do not reuse the June 2026 $1 / $6 / $12 allowance table. Live pricing uses qualitative "light / regular / heavier" included usage. Bitcoin via BTCPay is not on the current pricing page. The about page does not state Wisconsin or a solo-developer identity, so those claims are dropped.[5][3]
Tagline remains "Switch your assistant. Keep everything else."
| Attribute | Current evidence |
|---|---|
| Company | Viola (indie product; about page does not state team size or location) |
| Funding | Not publicly disclosed |
| Stage | Launched Windows + Mac apps.[2] |
| Smart home | Home Assistant.[3][4] |
| Phone | Outbound US/NANP via Telnyx; cloud audio.[6] |
| Source | Apache-2.0 core on GitHub; hosted services excluded.[7] |
Product Overview
Hub on the PC or Mac; other devices join multi-room audio as browser spokes. Music: YouTube/Google paths, local files, Spotify in the Windows desktop app only. Calendar is Google Calendar. Browser agent pauses at checkout. Wake word is "Viola"; TTS is Kokoro.[3][5][4]
As of September 2026 the assistant handles:
- Music playback — YouTube/Google paths, local files, multi-room sync; Spotify on Windows desktop only
- Calendar — Google Calendar
- Smart home — Home Assistant
- Phone calls — Outbound US numbers via Telnyx (cloud audio)
- Agentic tasks — Browser automation; checkout pauses for approval
- Everyday tasks — Timers, weather, conversions, questions
Key differentiators
| Feature | Viola | Alexa/Google |
|---|---|---|
| Privacy | Local-first by default; cloud opt-in | Cloud-processed |
| Ads | None on current pages | Promotional responses |
| Voice pipeline | Local wake/ASR; managed AI optional | Cloud |
| Smart home | Home Assistant | Native device ecosystems |
| Source | Apache-2.0 core + separate hosted terms | Closed |
The privacy framing is more precise than early beta "voice never leaves your device": voice transcription, memory, API keys, payment cards, OAuth tokens, and browser profiles stay on-device by default. Cloud features are opt-in or tied to account features that need them. Phone audio is cloud. Viola publishes a Privacy Ledger and network-flow docs.[4][1]
A useful evaluation is installing the signed build, connecting Home Assistant, and placing one US outbound call with recording disclosure on. That was not run here.
Capabilities
All tiers get the same feature set. Tiers differ by managed AI and phone allowance.[5]
Typical requests:
- "Play jazz music in the kitchen and living room"
- "Set a timer for 10 minutes"
- "Turn off the lights" (via Home Assistant)
- "Call the restaurant and ask about tonight's availability"
- "What can I substitute for buttermilk?"
- "Add a dentist appointment to my calendar Thursday at 2"
Technical Architecture
| Aspect | Detail |
|---|---|
| Wake / ASR | Local by default.[3] |
| LLM | Managed, BYOK (OpenAI / Anthropic / Google / OpenAI-compatible), or Ollama on Windows today.[5] |
| Music | YouTube/Google, local files; Spotify Windows desktop only.[5] |
| Calendar | Google Calendar |
| Smart home | Home Assistant |
| Phone | Telnyx carrier; voice pipeline in Viola cloud; optional own S3; 30-day default retention.[6] |
| Browser | Task automation; on-device profiles; checkout pause |
| Platforms | Windows 10/11 64-bit; Mac Intel and Apple Silicon (Rosetta 2).[2] |
| Source run | Python 3.11 and Node.js 22+; self-hosted telephony needs your carrier account.[7] |
Windows installer is a small websetup that fetches ~777 MB of voice models, SHA-256 on the download page. Mac is a signed zip. Every Windows build is code-signed through Microsoft Trusted Signing; Mac builds are Developer ID signed and notarized.[2]
The public repo had 9 stars and 1 fork in this review. Hosted services, production ops, customer data, and private commercial components are not in the tree.[8]
Strengths
- Real signed Windows and Mac apps, not a waitlist-only beta.[2]
- Home Assistant instead of a proprietary speaker ecosystem.[4]
- Published Privacy Ledger and network-flow docs.[4]
- Source core you can run without a Viola subscription.[7]
- Same features on Free/Pro/Max; paid plans only raise managed usage.[5]
- Multi-room audio uses devices you already own (browser spokes).
Cautions
- Phone audio is cloud, even if wake word is local.[6]
- Spotify is Windows-desktop-only; no Apple Music on the current pages.[5]
- Ollama local path is Windows today, not Mac.[5]
- No public user counts. GitHub stars are not adoption evidence.[8]
- Bitcoin/BTCPay was in the June profile and is not on current pricing.
- About page does not support Wisconsin/solo-dev claims; do not restore them.
- Linux and phones remain waitlist.
Pricing & Licensing
| Plan | Price (Sep 23, 2026) | Allowance language |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | BYOK, local, or light included usage; weekly cap on Free.[5] |
| Pro | $12/mo or $120/yr | Regular daily managed AI and phone; no weekly cap.[5] |
| Max | $20/mo or $200/yr | Heavier AI and phone; no weekly cap.[5] |
Same features on every plan. Phone draws from the same allowance; no separate call-count cap. Past the budget, buy more managed usage in-app or switch to BYOK. Monthly cycles are not refunded once started; annual plans can be pro-rated within 14 days.[5]
Original Viola code in viola-oss is Apache-2.0; third-party notices stay in SOURCE/NOTICES.md. Packaged downloads have separate terms.[7]
Competitive Positioning
Vs. corporate assistants (Alexa, Google, Siri)
Viola trades ecosystem breadth for a local-first desktop hub and Home Assistant. No third-party skills marketplace. No ads on current pages.[4]
Vs. self-hosted (Home Assistant Voice)
Viola complements HA rather than replacing a full self-hosted voice stack. Packaged apps are simpler; the Apache-2.0 core exists for people who want to run from source.[3][7]
Vs. Tembo
Tembo is coding-agent execution environments, not a consumer voice assistant. Adjacent only; no Viola integration on tembo.io.[9]
Disclosure: Ry Walker is Tembo's co-founder and CEO.
When to choose Viola
- Choose Viola when: You want a privacy-shaped desktop assistant on Windows or Mac, especially with Home Assistant.
- Choose Alexa/Google when: You need dedicated speaker hardware and a broad native ecosystem.
- Choose Home Assistant Voice when: You want to self-host the voice stack end to end.
What Developers Say
No independent Reddit or Hacker News review of useviola.com was opened in this pass. Search noise from unrelated "Voilà" products remains a problem. That is a search limitation dated September 23, 2026, not proof that no users exist.
Ideal Customer Profile
Best fit:
- Privacy-conscious Windows or Mac users who want a local wake word
- Home Assistant households
- People who will BYOK or run Ollama (Windows) to stay on Free
- Users who want US outbound calls and accept cloud audio for that path
Poor fit:
- Linux/mobile-only users
- Apple Music users; Spotify users not on Windows desktop
- Anyone who needs fully on-device phone calls
- Buyers who need a large vendor support org
Viability Assessment
| Factor | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Financial Health | Not publicly disclosed |
| Market Position | Niche privacy desktop assistant, now on two OSes |
| Innovation Pace | Mac launch, source core, and qualitative pricing are material since June |
| Community | 9 GitHub stars; no independent review threads in this pass |
| Long-term Outlook | Uncertain; shipping cadence is real |
Assessment
Evaluate Viola if you want a privacy-shaped desktop assistant on Windows or Mac, especially with Home Assistant. Price from the qualitative allowance copy, not the old dollar table. Do not treat it as fully on-device once phone or managed AI is on.
Recommended for: Privacy-conscious Windows/Mac users, especially Home Assistant households, who will read the Privacy Ledger.
Not recommended for: Linux/mobile-only users, Apple Music, or anyone who needs on-device telephony.
Outlook: Stronger than the June Windows-only closed-source story. Still a small public footprint.
Research by Ry Walker Research • methodology