Frequently asked questions for Newsroom Pro

Trial period

Click here to sign up for a 14-day free trial of Newsroom Pro

What does my free trial include?

All the features of Newsroom Pro, free for 14 days.

When will I be charged?

You will not be charged during the free trial period. After 14 days, your credit card will be charged for your chosen subscription unless you cancel not less than two days before the end of the free period. Subscriptions are billed monthly, 6-monthly or annually.

Can I cancel my free trial at any time?

You may cancel without obligation up to two days before the end of your 14-day trial period.

When does my free trial end?

The last day of your free trial is the day before the ‘Next payment’ date shown in the Subscription Details section of My Account.

Managing your account

You can manage your account under the My Account dashboard. This is accessible through the link to My Account/Sign In at the top of the site.

Are payments secure?

All credit card payments are processed by Stripe. Learn more about Stripe’s security here: https://stripe.com/docs/security/stripe

Do I have to remember a password?

We encourage you to sign in by requesting an authentication code. There’s no password to remember and it’s easy. We’ll email you the code and it’s good for 30 minutes. If it takes longer than that to get round to entering it, no problem. Just click the option to get a new one.

I’m getting a “Password not recognised, try again” message when I try to log in

Click on “Forgot password”, enter your email address and click “Reset password” to receive a link to create a new password via email.

Or use the “Email me a one-time code instead” option.

Please check your spam folder if you do not receive a reset email within 10 minutes. The link expires after 30 minutes.

For further assistance, please email [email protected]

How do I change my email address?

Please contact us at [email protected] as we will need to do this for you.

How do I add my bonus user?

You can add your bonus user when you are signed in at newsroom.co.nz. To do this, click on ‘My Account’, Group, Members, Add Member. Enter the email address of your bonus user and click the Add Member button and they’ll be sent an email invitation with a link to click to join your subscription.

How do I change my email newsletter preferences?

You can change your newsletter preferences when you are signed in at newsroom.co.nz. To do this, click on ‘My Account’, Newsletters and make your selection.

How do I update my credit card details?

New card details can be added under ‘Payment information’, then ‘Add New Payment method’.

When is my next payment due?

Click on My Account then Subscription. Your Next Payment date is listed in the Subscription Details section. If your payment fails for any reason, you will receive an email notification.

How do I cancel my subscription?

Click on My Account then Subscription, click on ‘More’, then Cancel Subscription. Your account will sit as ‘pending cancellation’ and you will continue to receive emails and have access to Pro until the period you have paid for has completed.

I am signed in, why can’t I access Newsroom Pro content?

If you can log in and access My Account but cannot view Newsroom Pro content, it means there is something wrong with your account status.

Please check whether your credit card details are correct and there are sufficient funds in your bank account to meet the monthly subscription fee.

New card details can be added under ‘Payment Information’, then ‘Add Payment method’.

For further assistance, please email [email protected]

How do I restart my subscription after cancelling?

You can sign in and restart your subscription via the Subscription section under My Account for 30 days after cancellation. Your payment method will be charged immediately at the rate of your previous subscription plan. If the period since cancellation is longer than 30 days, please email [email protected] and we’ll be happy to get you back up and running.

Signing in and staying signed in

If you have signed in in the last 30 days on the device you are using, our system should recognize you as a returning visitor. Once you have signed in on Safari, Firefox, Chrome, or other browsers, you should stay signed in for about a month.

If you are not staying signed in, here are several possible reasons, along with solutions for each.

You signed up for newsletters with one email address but subscribed with another.

Many people have multiple email addresses. You might use one address when signing up for email newsletters, but another when subscribing to sites. If you visit our site using a link from an email newsletter sent to an address that isn’t subscribed, our system may not recognize you.

How do I know this is happening? Sign in using the My Account/Sign In link at the top of the site. Check whether the email address in your account matches the email address your newsletter was sent

How can I fix it? Once you are signed in, please click yes if you see a ‘stay signed in’ or accept cookies prompt.

If you have tried all of these options, and you still can’t stay signed in, please contact us and provide information about your device, browser, and any detail regarding actions you took. Screenshots or video can also be really helpful in troubleshooting sign-in issues.

You are using a private or incognito browser window or tab.

Private (Safari and Firefox) and Incognito (Chrome) browser sessions don’t track your data. If you sign in during such a session, your sign-in data won’t carry over.

Why does this happen? Your device might be set up to open any new window in a private browsing session, or you might have been in a private or incognito session for another reason.

How do I know this is happening? In Safari, the browser’s address bar will be black or dark instead of white or gray. In Firefox, you’ll see a mask icon at the top of the browser. In Chrome, the browser’s address bar and new tab background will be black.

How can I fix it? Turn off private or incognito browsing in your web browser.

You are using a light or in-app version of a browser.

This is especially common on smartphones, most often when Safari is your default browser.

Why does this happen? Links you open from another app (e.g., Mail, Gmail, Facebook, or Twitter) may open in a light browser. For privacy, these browsers don’t retain sign-in info.

How do I know this is happening? In Safari on iPhone and iPad, you’ll know you’re in a light browser if you’re on our site and see the Safari icon at the bottom right of your screen. You also may see a “Done” or “Back” link or back arrow at the top left of your screen. You might see an option that reads “Open window in [browser name]” under the more options (…) menu.

How can I fix it? In Safari on iPhone and iPad, select the Safari compass icon at the bottom right of your screen, or select “Open window in [browser name]” in your more options (…) menu.

You are blocking cookies in your browser’s settings.

If your browser is using privacy settings that block cookies, it won’t store your log-in information.

Why does this happen? You or your workplace might have set your device to block cookies for privacy. This can unfortunately sometimes hamper a website’s functionality.

How do I know this is happening? In Safari on iPhone and iPad, you’ll know you’re in a light browser if you’re on our site and see the Safari icon at the bottom right of your screen. You also may see a “Done” or “Back” link or back arrow at the top left of your screen. You might see an option that reads “Open window in [browser name]” under the more options (…) menu.

How can I fix it? In Safari on iPhone and iPad, select the Safari compass icon at the bottom right of your screen, or select “Open window in [browser name]” in your more options (…) menu.

How do I get more help?

Our customer service team are here to help. Email us at [email protected] if you have any other questions.